My First Computer

Well, I guess that my first computer was a Commodore 64. I remember spending, what seemed to me, hours programming DOS to make the computer screen have little figures dance in little fun little patterns. I truly loved the thing. I am not about to present myself as a computer person. I feel that I am a tinkerer, with a flighty sense of focus. The important thing is that the seed was planted when I was young. Unfortunately, I do not feel that the seed was fostered in anyway. What do I mean? Well, I think that paraphrasing Dr. Michio Kaku, one of my favorite theoretical physicists, may apply here. In essence, he says everyone is born a genius, and it takes junior high (I would add high school) to crush your curiosity. I feel there is truth to that. Though, I concede that I may be making excuses for any regrets that I may have regarding my education. Back to my computer.

I find technological things fascinating; though, I have never pursued this intrest until recently. I took on the challenge of building my own computer. I put it together, installed the software, and it works great. One more thing checked off my life list. I think that this is a continuation of challenging myself, and educating myself, in ways that were never available to me in my youth. Moreover, I feel strong that I need to show my baby that you can educate and challenge yourself everyday. Hopefully leading her to a life of continual education. Ahh, simple dreams of a father. Mind you, I do not want to dictate to my baby what to do with her life. I just want her to be curious about the world around her. I hope she will be curious about her profession. I hope she will be curious about how all the little boxes and apparatuses work around her. I hope that she will teach me. I hope that the best way to do that is to show her that I am curious about the world around me, well us.

Leave a Reply

